A Blog for Reading! ;)

I just realized I haven’t blogged since getting to Reading! I have to tell you all about our flat, my job, our new friends, and the adventures we’ve had thus far!

So first off. We’ve made it to Reading, England!

We have a very wee flat to call our own ๐Ÿ™‚ We have been able to make it home. It has a lot of โ€œqwirksโ€ that we’re trying make the best of. Our front entry door doesn’t work, the buzzer is broken, our VERY heavy blinds fell off the wallย cuz they were only glued on, the smoke detector goes off when we boil the kettle, our fridge is the size of a college dorm mini-fridge and the worst of all? Our shower is chilly and has next to no pressure. It doesn’t even get my whole head wet ๐Ÿ˜ฆ So I use the sink to fill up buckets of water and dump them on my head….that’s not very much fun and has resulted in many tears unfortunately. But we’re learning how to get on with it. We have been able to make it very cozy and really cute ๐Ÿ™‚

I have been able to get a job at a coffee shop called the Workhouse Coffee Company which is the coolest coffee shop I have ever been to. They roast all their own beans from some of the best growers in the world. Everything is organic and homemade. All the staff is from different countries which is really awesome! They are all really friendly and so caring. I love it there!

I’m also volunteering with Rahab. They work with prostitutes in the city ministering to them, being their friend, handing out condoms and hot chocolate. Going with them to doctors appointments or whatever else they might need. So they do night outreaches then several day activities. They even have a drop in sessions at Workhouse Coffee Shop every week! What a good deal eh? So I’m loving being involved with them. I love it so much. It’s what I’m supposed to be doing right now ๐Ÿ™‚

So that’s basically what I have going on. We’ve found a cool church called Reading Family Church and that’s lots of fun. Really neat people! The pastors are great and it’s a good place to be. I’m enjoying getting involved with. I’ve gotten to go along to the youth group stuff which means I am now friends with tons of 12 year old girls who are awesome! Baking, dancing, and talking about anything/everything ๐Ÿ™‚

We have also gotten to have many adventures to London together. But that is another blog for another day ๐Ÿ˜‰

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A Blog for Reading! ;)

  1. Francois

    Loving reading all your blogs and seeing that you are having a wonderful time down south:)

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

