A message from England

SO it’s been a few weeks since i’ve written a blog post. A lot can happen in six weeks. So here’s an update:

We had a lovely last few days with my family. Fishing, having a few girlie days with my sister and mom. Went to the Alaskan State Fair with my brother and dad. Had the most wonderful last day in Alaska. Tons of fun and memories! I loved it. We drove to the airport and had a very teary goodbye. I love my brother and my dad so very much. They are incredible.

First off, I”m here. That’s a blessing from God. I’m so excited that we were able to get a VISA in time for me to come back with Andy.  You have no idea how thrilled I am to be here totally legally!

Coming back to Scotland was great. I basically slept for the next 3 days. I would wake up, eat and go back to sleep. The Hayes House is a nice place to recuperate though. Quite quiet and they didn’t mind that I slept for 3 days 😛 We got to meet up with a few of Andy’s school friends. I got to see the lovely Vanessa who I hadn’t seen since Christmas last year. She had just come back from being in Australia for Exchange. It was good to see our friends again.

After 6 days in Dundee we loaded up Mikes Land Rover with about 2/3 of our belongings and set out to drive down to Reading, England! We left about 8pm on Thursday night the 6th of September. We were in desperate need of coffee so we found a wee italian coffee shop to top up.

 

We got our keys by 9am. When we moved in the place was absolutely mingin…so bad that after 20 minutes of trying to stay calm I burst into tears. I felt like I was going to catch a disease. There was black hair covering the floor, food crumbs, dirt and scum. Stains of all sorts. It was terrible. So we spent a good 4-5 hours scouring the flat until it was livable. The flat is less than half the size of our Glasgow flat with next to no storage so out of the 2/3 of our belongings we brought with us, we sent half of it back to Dundee. It was a rough day. Mike helped out loads with ferrying things to and from various shops. We wouldn’t have been able to do it without him. Our flat is finally feeling homey 🙂

So that’s us in a nutshell. 68 South Street is our home for the next 12 months 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “A message from England

  1. Beverly Silveira

    We love you messages, so good to know what is going on in your exciting life. What a wonderful adventure you have had. We are doing fine except that Grandma broke her collar bone and was not able to do much for 6weeks but it is healing well and will start therapy next week. We have had a super dry summer, can hardly wait for a good rain. It has been in the 70’s and 80’s most of the time. We love you both so much you are really wonderful special people and we are proud to have the two of you for Grandchildren. Looking forward to your next message. We were so sorry to hear about your friend. The Dad has quite a job ahead of him, sounds as if he is a great guy and can do it. Love to you, Grandma and Grandpa.

    • Thank you do much grandma! I’m glad you read it. That’s the only reason I write them 🙂 i llove both of you so much. I’m flying to Alaska on Tuesday and staying for three weeks. Andy can’t come sadly but at least I can go. Keep praying.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.